Dairy in Hidden Places

Dairy in Hidden Places

When we think of dairy, we think cheese, milk and yoghurt products, and steering clear of them will result in a dairy-free diet. But, in reality, this is not the case. Diary products are hidden in so many foods that swerving dairy completely can be a real task! In this blog, we explore a few food items that you may not know contain dairy.

Chewing Gum

Whether you eat dairy on not, you will put no thought whatsoever into popping a chewing gum into your mouth to freshen your breath. But, did you know that 90% of chewing gums contain Recaldent, which is a milk product.

Salad Dressings

If you’re looking to cut out dairy, is it fair to suggest that you’re taking steps to improve your health in one way or another. Nobody simply gives up a food group unless they feel it will benefit them. When looking to make healthier good options, salad usually comes into the mix. But, did you know that many shop-bought salad dressings contain diary, often to give them their thickness and creaminess.

Tinned fish

Now, this one may surprise you! Many canned fish such as canned tuna and salmon contain casein, which is a milk protein. So, if your are on a no-dairy diet, reading the label on your tuna tins is highly advised.

Granola

While TV adverts have convinced us that Granola is the ultimate healthy breakfast, in many cases granola and cereal bars contain great amounts of butter. As well as containing dairy, this makes them high in fat too!

Crisps

Crisps are a minefield when it comes to dairy, with many flavours you expect to have dairy in not, and visage versa. In fact, many crisps you expect to be vegetarian aren’t! If you have a specific sensitivity or dietary preference, reading the ingredients on the crisp packet is a MUST.

To detect whether you are intolerance to dairy or any other food group, take a home food intolerance test. 

Back to blog